Club history

Since 1882


Some of our history



Starteded as an officers services tennis club it was not until after the return from evacuation away from Gibraltar and the removal of the tennis courts at Victoria Gardens to make space for the airport that the Civilian Lawn Tennis started and eventually took over the running of Sandpits. Until then it has been by appointment only and strictly no children. The courts used to be made of clay.

The first civilian president was Sir Edward Cottrell (Saccone & Speed). He was president from 1945-49. Vice-president was Ernest Andlaw. After Cottrell Ernest followed as president until his passing away in 1970. He was president for 20 years. He was followed by another long-term president. Charles Norton from 1970 to 83. Albert Ramagge, his wife and children were active players and he succeeded as president. as a builder he orchestrated a major change. He was also president (from 84 to 91). The pavilion was dilapidated and too small for purpose. He build the club house as we know it today and a paddle court (The Albert Ramagge Paddle Court) was build. Opening was 1st of September 2000. Frank Costa followed as president from 1992 to 98.  Lionel Chipolina presided in 1999 taking the Club to the millenium. Frank Costa took over again and was president this time for ten years to 2010. From 2011 the Club President has been Louis Poggio.

At age 15 Tita Stagnetto was already the secretary of the club. She is still active coaching.

The club formally became Gibraltar Sandpits Lawn Tennis Club in 1948 or 1949.

The club was covered in sand for a number of years ago reopened in the late 1960 or early 1970s. some of the early members were Joey and Brian Hill and their father, Tita Stagnetto, Mr. Chipolina (Lionel’s dad), Manolo Garcia, Louis Montegriffo, Hubert Corby, John and Peter Caetano, Frank Costa, Karl Grambow and Elisabeth Malin. There are many details missing. PLEASE PROVIDE US WITH MORE HISTORY, STORIES, PICTURES ETC. ETC.

24 medals belonging to Lee Whitwell won at different Island games and kindly donated on loan to the club. These medals are now up where they can be viewed by all.

August 2019

Club Presidents

1945 –                Sir Edward Cottrell

Ernest Andlaw (OBE)

– 1983      Col Charles Norton (MBE)

1984 – 1991      Albert Ramagge

1992 – 1998      Frank Costa

1999 – 2000     Lionel Chipolina

2000 – 2010     Frank Costa

2001 –                Louis Poggio

Sandpits Open Tennis tournament winners (Mens)

1991   Peter Caetano

1992  Peter Caetano

1993  Peter Caetano


1995  Lionel Chipolina


1997    Lionel Chipolina

1998   James Taylor


2000    Lionel Chipolina

2001   James Taylor

2002   James Taylor

2003   James Taylor

2004   James Taylor

2005   James Taylor

2006   James Taylor

2007   James Taylor

2008   James Taylor

2009   James Taylor

2010   James Taylor

2011   James Taylor

2012  no tournament due to lack of entries and injuries

2013   James Taylor

2014   James Taylor









Your content goes here. Edit or remove this text inline or in the module Content settings. You can also style every aspect of this content in the module Design settings and even apply custom CSS to this text in the module Advanced settings.